Cute little banana pancakes

2 Oct

Every time I listen to Jack Johnson’s song, it makes me feel like baking something nice, in a cozy kitchen lit by the Sunday morning sunrays. There’s something magical and melancholic about it. Especially because, obviously, it makes me want to bake banana pancakes.

I came across this picture the other day on Pinterest and I fell in love with the concept. I’ve bought some coconut oil recently that I really want to try with these pancakes.

So, since I’ve got a friend over this week, something tells me she’s gonna find herself with a nice breakfast this weekend… Shht, please don’t tell 😉

 

Why I like it so much: I put on Banana Pancakes of Jack Johnson and start cooking, it feels like holidays and it makes me think of a breakfast on a beach in Hawai. It’s my little happy place.

 

How I want to make it even better next time: Try to make a caramel with vanilla sugar to serve on top of the banana and pancakes, that should give a nice addition to the flavor of the banana.

What you need (around 10 pancakes depending on the size you want to bake)


2 bananas (the browner the better for the pancake mix, but keep one a bit young for the decorative part)
2 eggs
1tsp Vanilla Extract
Cinnamon
Coconut Oil or other cooking oil/butter
1. Ripe the banane, cut in small slices and pour in a bowl.

2. Add the eggs in the bowl and whisk together. It’s better if you get a brown banana, because it will give more flavors and will be more easily mashed into the eggs.

3. Pre-heat a pan with some coconut oil and add the pancakes on the pan. Make sure to leave 2cm between each pancakes. Flip after 2minutes of cooking (when the face of the pancake is brownish it’s good!) and get it ready on a plate.

4. Take your second banana and slice it up. You can now use a flower shapped cutter (or any other shape you’d like) to put on top of your pancakes. It’s ready!

Eet smakkelijk!

Chuck

Leave a Reply

